Not doing the challenges

I feel bad that the instructor keeps asking me to do the challenges but I honestly feel like this is a waste of time unless you have written a lot of code before this course. I’ve never used this language before and am just trying to absorb the syntax and logic of why we are doing things this way. It’s starting to sink in and I’m getting more comfortable but I freeze up at every challenge and feel overwhelmed. Not only do I never get the challenge right but I alter my code and then not only have to add his code after the challenge but have to remember what I did and erase it correctly each time and troubleshoot it and rewatch the video. I just can’t help but think there is a more efficient way to learn to code in c# and learn unity. I hate people who complain and don’t offer alternative suggestions so here is mine.

make a game where you cannot progress to the next level until you figure out what’s wrong with the pre-written code. All code I have ever learned I have stolen from someone else anyway and videogames reinforces learning through repetition. This may seem like a rant but honestly I’m just trying to be helpful. Either way I do feel the course is extremely valuable the way it is as it is opening me up to coding for gaming.

Although I see your point, i am not really following you.

Learning, at first, always is “stealing” someone else’s knowledge. You get to know available information and wrap your thoughts around it. From there you are starting to develop your own ideas and ways to realize them.
Mostly by repeating what you have learned with some variations. again and again aaand again.
That is the nature of learning. Creating starts a bit later on :slight_smile:

Your suggestion to give a problem and only to go on when you have solved it, is basically exactly what the instructors are asking. It is up to you to work on it until you have solved the task or decide to “peek” and go on with the course.