My level

Hi guys… I want to make the 2nd rocket (circled) trigger when the player flies over it, and fly quickly straight upwards, as a missle. Any tips on how to do this?

1 Like

Hi Andy,

First of all, great scene. I love this low-poly design. :slight_smile:

Regarding your problem, you could add a trigger collider (a large BoxCollider) in the area. If the rocket touches it (e.g. OnTriggerEnter), you could launch the second rocket.

See also:

1 Like

Nina beat me to it. I would say a trigger as well, initially I was thinking a ray trace to sense when it happens too. But it is a bit more complex, when a simple trigger will do it.

Hi guys…I’m working on it, but I’m pretty new to scripting. As far as I can tell I need 2 scripts. One to trigger the missile, and one very basic movement script for the missile to fly straight upwards when triggered. Can anyone assist? THANK YOU!

1 Like

It depends on your concept. If you want to reuse the collider/concept for different types of objects, make a separate script, which could act as a detector. In this script, you could create a variable of type Launcher with the [SerializeField] attribute.

Then you create a Launcher script, which you attach to the second rocket. Drag the component into the exposed field of the Detector component.

Now you can program the behaviour. Create a public method in the Launcher class which you call in your Detector instance. This method could give the second rocket a velocity.

Before worrying about any details, try to make this work first.

1 Like

okay, I’m almost there, but one very technical question (by my standards, anyway!)

How do I make a script wait to be triggered by another script, instead of firing right away?

1 Like