How to connect the AutoPlay with a brick?

Hey everyone…
I came up with the idea to make a brick that when it takes a hit it triggers the
AutoPlay function…
I have been stuck on this for days now…
Thanks in advance.

Give your Brick a type, you could use an Enum.

In your HandleHits() method check for the type before determining what action to take.

If the brick is of the relevant type, set the autoplay boolean to true.

You will need to give some thought as to what will turn it back off… a duration of time would make sense perhaps…

1 Like

Hi Rob,
thank you for the solution…
the thing is that i am a complete noob in programming…
so how do I do it?
Create an enum and store the boolean into it?
why the use of enum?

Hi,

More of a suggestion overview than a solution :slight_smile:

Ok, so you could use a boolean, perhaps naming it something like;

public bool isAutoPlayPowerUp = false;

…you could then tick the box in the Inspector for the specific brick and off you go.

By using an ENUM you could extend your power-up mechanic a little further, for example, you may have other power-ups such as;

• autoplay
  • fast ball
  • slow ball
  • multi ball
  • lasers

Once you have more than one power up having lots of booleans to set for each brick is going to become a lot less fun… you could of course create different block prefabs which are set as being a specific power-up, but what if you then want a red one, and a blue one, and a green one and so on. Often games like this would have a random effect which would make a specific block a power-up without the player knowing it was until it was broken. Of course, these are design considerations you would want to make yourself.

To continue with the suggestion however;

Brick.cs

Your enum might look like this;

private enum PowerUp { AutoPlay, FastBall, SlowBall, MultiBall, Lasers }

You might add a local variable to hold the type of power-up that the brick is;

private PowerUp powerUpType = null;