Glass Pawn and File Separation/Git

Here’s my pawn. 196 faces. I think that qualifies as low poly? I guess it’s better than the 3-5K Mike was showing with the subsurface modifier in the previous lecture.

I took about a 3 week detour and studied materials and shaders. There’s so much to learn! But I ended up learning how to build a node tree for volume absorption, and LOVE the effect it gives. Conveniently, Blender has a Volume Absorption shader built in now so it’s easy to do. Anyway, at the end of the journey I thought, “Wow, I can totally apply all this to the chess set!” So I finally circled back.

And voila!

I plan to keep my pieces in separate files, appending the base mesh (edit: link? I want to be able to edit the main base mesh and have all the separate files reflect those changes), and having the materials that I really want in the final scene. I’m a software developer and plan to use git to version control this at some point, I’m just too lazy and haven’t gotten around to it, though I thought I saw it in the lecture line up. Separating out the files will let me version them better with clear commit messages alongside what files changed and why. (tweaks to the mesh, removing unneeded objects, etc.) Version control in general will be useful in so many ways.

In the meantime, I found applying a temporary material beneficial in that it helped me see the form a little better, especially the creases.

Edit: I tried linking a file instead of appending, and while the mesh changes made in one file are reflected in the file linking that mesh, I can’t toggle subsurface modifier options, for example. So, not sure how I’ll use that in my workflow. I link it, and if I then duplicate it I can shade smooth/change modifier settings, but I might as well just append at that point.

10 Likes

There is a Blender option for, called “Matcap”.