Duplication Challenge - Gryffindor Tower

Hi all, this is my render from the duplication challenge for the Blender course.

I am very new to 3D modelling/animation so it’s not nearly as fancy as a lot of other submissions but I’m really happy with how it turned out, particularly the set of drawers.

I plan on adding to and changing up the room as I learn more techniques throughout the course (I’m sure some more comfortable beds would be welcome)

I am still having a bit of trouble when applying transforms. Particularly with the bricks, after I had applied transforms and rotated it, I wanted to halve the size of the brick for the doorway but using the scale function turned it into a diamond, and I couldn’t work out how to resize it relative to itself - if that makes sense! It was following the axis relative to the scene, rather than relative to itself. I am unsure how else to describe it.

I ended up going in to edit mode and mucking around with different functions in there and managed to halve the size of the brick (I should have just created a new cube and eye-balled it, but this was fun too).

Very excited to keep on learning and making more scenes!

3 Likes

Please finish this till the end. It’s looks amazing so far.

2 Likes

Welcome to this site.

A fine start on a room.

Applying transforms is a basic and important thing to do. However the reason they are not automatically applied is the situations where it helps not to have done so. That comes with experience. In your brick case it would have helped not to. Retaining a ‘local’ xyz that the brick started with. Applying removes the local and sets the item back to world axes. It is vital for most subsequent tools especially modifiers when you get to them later.

Love the Suzanne draw handles!

2 Likes

The best way is to make a screen dump of the problem.
Mainmenu > Windows > save screenshot.

Did you work in EDIT or OBJECT mode?
Maybe youwere working a different mode…?

2 Likes