Building my own game just by this udemy course

Hii, I am Chirag. I recently enrolled for this course on Udemy. I am new to all of the unreal engine stuff and I am planning to build my own fps shooter within some years. Although I am confused that what all do we get with this course. I want to learn every nook and cranny of this software. But i want to know that how much will we be learning as the course shows only C++ so that means there will not be any blueprints classes. And also if we are learning C++ then how much of it will we be learning, just the basic or the whole codding language. And will this course be enough to build a full fleshed game like warzone ?

Hi Chirag, welcome!

This is my opinion based on my experience:

First, I think that learning every nook and cranny of Unreal takes years, and not only one or two, but a lot of them. When you begin, you only think about C++ or blueprints, but that is only the most obvious feature of making a game. I don’t want to demotivate you, but it is not a thing you can learn in one or two courses (not here, not anywhere) and if someone says you can I really think they are misleading you. Only learning C++ takes years.

But then, Unreal is not only C++ or blueprints. You will have to learn AI, materials, lights, cinemachine… Building a game like warzone needs artists, musicians, animators, game-designers…

Once said that, I began to learn Unreal a year ago and I am having a very good time doing so. It is special when you make your first game, when someone you don’t know plays and likes your game, and even when they gave you feedbacks about how to improve it. I also have to say Unreal seems to really want to make easier for solo or little teams to make really good games (Unreal 5, metahuman or Megascan)…