Beginner's Advice From a Complete Newb!

Woo Hoo! I just completed the NumberWizard Console game after having to trash it and start over. I surprised even myself! I am a complete newb never really coding before. You might say I have a script/code/programming phobia! I seriously doubt I will ever become a coder. But, I started this course because I wanted to create assets, with Blender, for games. I feel to do that I need to learn about Unity and what is involved in creating games. So, has taken the steps via this course.

As I was going through the creating of the NumberWizard console game, I learned a couple of valuable things over and above what was shown in the videos and wanted to share with others starting out.

1. Don’t rush through the videos!
    This is not a race! :slight_smile: Take your time and watch the videos carefully. For me, the solution is watching them once, since they are not that long per lecture, and try understand the concepts being taught. Then, I watch it a 2nd time, and follow along with Ben and create my script.

2. Catch Errors Early!
    Unless you are really confident, save your script(s) after changes are made in the video. Make sure your script(s) run without errors. I have found errors are easier to discover and correct.

3. Don’t Script While Tired!
    If you have had a long day, it is really easy to make mistakes. And, it is much more difficult to find and correct your errors. Give yourself a break and come back to the project tomorrow when you may be fresher and less tired. I learned this the hard way when working on the NumberWizard Console game causing me to begin again.

4. Save Your Working Script Outside Mono!
    If your script works correctly at the end of a lecture, save it in Mono as normal then copy & paste the entire script into a text editor, such as word pad or note pad and save the document. Create a new script document per lecture of entire script.