A Quick Look at Memory

I am working on completing the [Unreal Engine C++ Developer: Learn C++ and Make Video Games] Udemy course. One of the lessons goes over Memory allocation. Now, I am no expert in logical processes and memory allocation, so this section got me really confused.

My question is, how important is this knowledge. Is knowing how the computer allocates memory to store values really that important? Or can I go about my business without giving it much thought?

If it is important, why is that? What should I focus on?

Adding ScreenShot for reference

It’s not needed to know if you’re coding at a higher level of abstraction. Though I would say it certainly useful knowing.
What confused you specifically?

1 Like

What confused me the most was the endianness reference from the lecture. I was not at all familiar with it and granted, I did not do any research on it before posting this question.

After reading the Wikipedia reference from the Resources part of the lecture and moving on to further lectures, I feel like I got a better grasp of memory allocation.

What I have been struggling with a lot has been the “Pointers” or reference variables and such. I completely understand why they are useful/necessary, but the concept of them and how to use them gives me a headache from time to time.

All in all, I feel like I am in a much better place of understanding and knowledge now than I was before.

Thank you for answering my question.

If you expand on this I might be able to help.

Its honestly a matter of syntax and experience. For the reference variables, I may forget to add the & identifier and end up getting errors on the VS Code. For the pointers I may forget the * or the newly introduced ** in Building Escape.

Im currently going through the Escape Building project and in the first stages of that project we go over overloading a pointer - not sure if that is the correct use of those words, but here is the example

FString Log = TEXT("Hello World!");