A bit confused regarding the concepts behind the code [SOLVED]

While i pretty much appreciate the course, I am quite confused about the concept of using a shredder and a Rigidbody2D for the lasers over just adding a script to the prefab, that manages movement and destroys the gameObject as soon as it leaves the CameraView.

From what i understand, the “Shredder” Method, destroys the possibility to use a free ratio / playspacesize (unless you place it really high above the playspace, which will result on more laser object and more memory use). - please correct me if im wrong !
Also why are we using the Rigidbody2D, whats the advantage of invoking the Physics engine over just using a method to move the lasers , like the one we use to move the enemys ?

Hello Michael, I can say I am fairly new at game development and have basic programming experiment. But I am curious to learn new things. And I also appreciate this course. In this course I generally try to get things done before watching lecturer’s solution. In the Block Breaker game, there were a smoke clone issue like projectile clone in this game. When I realise it I tried to solve and accomplished it, yeah :slight_smile: My solution for smoke was that I added a script namely “ParticleAutoDestroy” to smoke prefab. It simply checks whether the ParticleSystem alive or not in update() and Destroy if it is not.

As the same way, in laser defender; I added a ProjectileAutoDestroy to PlayerLaser prefab. In script, it finds the uppermost of the camera view [Vector3 upmost = Camera.main.ViewportToWorldPoint(new Vector3(0, 1, distance));] as relative world unit in Start(). And check the position of the “particle” in Update(); if it is leaves the upper edge of the camera view, it destroy particle game object.

if(gameObject.transform.position.y > (ymax + 0.5f)) {Destroy(gameObject);}